New Health and Social Care Standards published

Date: 28th June 2017
Category: Health and health services

The Scottish Government have recently published a new set of Health and Social Care Standards entitled 'My support, my life' which set out what should be expected when using health, social care or social work services in Scotland.

The new standards will be implemented on the 1st April 2018 and will apply to a breadth of services in Scotland including NHS services as well as those registered with the Care Inspectorate and Healthcare Improvement Scotland.

There are five outcomes which the standards focus on in order to improve people's experience of care:

  • I experience high quality care and support that is right for me.
  • I am fully involved in all decisions about my care and support.
  • I have confidence in the people who support and care for me.
  • I have confidence in the organisation providing my care and support.
  • I experience a high quality environment if the organisation provides the premises.

Furthermore, the five core principles of the standards are:

  • Dignity and respect
  • Compassion
  • Be included
  • Responsive care
  • Support and wellbeing

The standards aim to ensure that the human rights of service users are promoted and respected whilst also receiving care that is compassionate, inclusive and responsive.

Health Secretary Shona Robinson commented on the standards by saying that "Everyone is entitled to high-quality care and support, designed for their particular needs and choices. This could be in a hospital; a care home; a children's nursery; or within their own home

"Each and everyone one of us at some point in our lives will use, or know someone who uses a health or social care service. That's why these Standards are so important - to ensure that everyone in Scotland receives the care and support that is right for them."